Undergraduate Awards

The Division of Undergraduate Education maintains a listing of the following awards for UCSC undergraduate students. Campus application deadlines are listed for the scholarships. For more information contact the office listed in the award. This site is maintained by the Coordinator of Undergraduate Honors and Research Opportunities, ugrdhnrs@ucsc.edu.

Deans', Chancellor's, and Steck Awards
Dean’s Awards are granted to 50 undergraduate projects, 10 from each of the academic divisions. Submissions are an outstanding senior thesis or project completed during the current academic year. Each winning project will receive a $100 cash award, and will be considered for a Chancellor’s and Steck Award. The names of the winners will be announced at college commencement ceremonies.

AWARD AMOUNTS:  $100 Dean’s, $500 Chancellor’s, $1,000 Steck Award

Regents Scholarship
Regents Scholarships are awarded in recognition of outstanding academic achievement. Regents Scholarships are renewable for 4 years for first year students and for 2 years for junior transfers. The renewal period for current students awarded a new scholarship depends on the student's level at the time of award. For more information contact the Financial Aid Scholarship office or click: http://financialaid.ucsc.edu/types-of-aid/scholarships/regents.html

Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Awards Program

The Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Awards Program was established in 1993 by former chancellor Karl S. Pister to increase opportunities for talented community college students who want to transfer to UCSC. The scholarships recognize students who have overcome adverse socioeconomic circumstances, who have a demonstrated commitment to assisting and improving the lives of others, and who might not otherwise be able to attend UCSC for financial reasons. Candidates are nominated by the presidents of each of the 13 regional community colleges. The nominations are reviewed by the Leadership Opportunity Awards Screening Committee, and one student from each college will be selected to receive the $20,000 award ($10,000 awarded for two years). For more information, inquire at the financial aid office of one of the participating community colleges: Cabrillo College, Cañada College, College of San Mateo, De Anza College, Evergreen Valley College, Foothill College, Gavilan College, Hartnell College, Mission College, Monterey Peninsula College, San Jose City College, Skyline College and West Valley College.