Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Award

The Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Awards Program was established in 1993 by former chancellor Karl S. Pister to increase opportunities for talented community college students who want to transfer to UCSC. The scholarships recognize students who have overcome adverse socioeconomic circumstances, who have a demonstrated commitment to assisting and improving the lives of others, and who might not otherwise be able to attend UCSC for financial reasons.

Candidates are nominated by the presidents of each of the 13 regional community colleges (see list below). The nominations are reviewed by the Leadership Opportunity Awards Review Committee, and one student from each college will be selected to receive up to $20,000 award ($10,000 awarded for two years).

Participating community colleges: Cabrillo College, Cañada College, College of San Mateo, De Anza College, Evergreen Valley College, Foothill College, Gavilan College, Hartnell College, Mission College, Monterey Peninsula College, San Jose City College, Skyline College, and West Valley College.


Contact: Sandra Ramirez, College Scholars Program Coordinator
Email: ur_hnrs@ucsc.edu
Phone: (831) 459-5386